Existing Products.

After having a think about ideas of design with an experience I decided that a children’s book would be good as children enjoy interactive games and books. So first I am going to look at different interactive designs that are already out there I will then look at specific age ranges that children can use for example reading levels and skill levels.

Here are some examples I have found that have caught my eye.

Screen Shot 2015-01-16 at 12.38.45

I have found different types of puzzles that are simple and educational as well as being fun. Which is what I want to incorporate into my piece I looked further to see what different ways they have created the puzzles.

Screen Shot 2015-01-16 at 12.42.35

Screen Shot 2015-01-16 at 12.42.54

After looking at this puzzle I have found for younger audiences the puzzle difficulties are very simple, mainly two piece puzzles that are easy for children to complete and enjoy.

Screen Shot 2015-01-16 at 12.44.13

Screen Shot 2015-01-16 at 12.44.05

I have found with the alphabet puzzles they are eye-catching and easy to complete but still educational in a sense of figuring out the way the alphabet goes, I think I will interpret this into my design as also relating the letters to a simple object with the letter at the beginning of the word will also be adding an extra sense of enjoyment and educational aspect in a different way for the same thing.

Screen Shot 2015-01-16 at 12.45.36

Screen Shot 2015-01-16 at 12.45.50

Here is a slightly different style I have looked at which is more of an activity pack using magnets. The child can create a scene using numbers and images to create enjoyment as well. This piece has made me consider different routes I could go down so I will brainstorm this to see what ideas I can come up with.

Screen Shot 2015-01-19 at 11.48.28

Again this is an activity pack for children simple in use but fun as well as educational which is the route I would like to go down. seeing what is inside has enlightened me in what things I can design and what children like, colour wise and the simplicity of the colour pallet.

From this I am join got look at the age ranges to choose my target audience of which I will be designing for. And also start brainstorming and sketching initial ideas divergently to the narrow down to one design idea.

Leave a comment