What can be grown/Problems we might come across.

I have decided to look into different possibilities of plants and vegetables that can be used in my design. I going to consider what would work best and what people might benefit most from. After researching I have decided to do different selections in different packs of toilets rolls themselves so when the consumer buys the product they can choose which one they feel would benefit them most or which ones they like best which could be a new advertising technique for the toilet roll industry.

Here are a few examples of possibilities of what we can grow.

Screen Shot 2016-01-25 at 11.33.31

Screen Shot 2016-01-25 at 11.47.45

Screen Shot 2016-01-25 at 11.49.28

Screen Shot 2016-01-25 at 11.52.38

From this I have decided to look into a selection on vegetables, a selection of herbs and finally some general flowers that can be used just for pot planting in the house or in the garden.

Problems I might come across.

I thought about what problems I might come across when using seeded paper inside the toilet roll tube and my first thought was that toilet rolls are generally used in a moist environment typically ‘the bathroom’ and wondered if this would start growing the plant or vegetable when still in use. I looked into how much moisture would be needed and whether this would affect how I design this product but no this would not happen. To grow the seeds inside the card/paper you need a number of things to grow these particular plants or vegetables and a lot more moisture than from steam in a bathroom etc. Although this isn’t a major problem I am going to look into a seal that could possibly be put over it to prevent this from happening at all.

  • I can use a thin plastic film to cover the tube on the inside which them the toilet roll can be placed on top as normal
  • I can use plastics with additives such as ‘Totally Degradable Plastic Additives(TDPA’s)’ to make this more of a biodegradable item.

Leave a comment