Experimenting with hand rendered type.

To begin I decided to experiment with hand rendered typography using different typefaces to learn more about creating typography by hand. I also was playing around with what different serifs and sans serifs work together and experimenting with composition of the typography that I was drawing. Here are a few examples I came up with using the quote ‘I think therefore I am’.

1 2 3 4

From this I found using a variation of serifs and san serifs work well together although typography on its own I feel do not describe the quote which I am trying to get across in this design. I also learn ways in creating different effects using different sizes of typography. However I feel this is too simple and needs some style of illustration during this so to move forward I will be experimenting further by playing around with the slightly longer quote by Martin Luther King Jr. ‘The time is always right to do what is right’.

Leave a comment