‘Skateboard Ranges’ – Visual Communication.

I felt it was important to look at different existing seasonal ranges of skateboards to see how they relate to the seasons using either there graphics or typography to put the message across.

Firstly I will be looking at an existing spring range analysing how they relate to spring or if they do at all.

When looking at these I like the way they have incorporated summer in some aspects into characters like the ice cream but also how they have used some aspects of summer and created things that you wouldn’t necessarily relate. I think the colour schemes work well and like how they have used colour opposites to make the graphics stand out on the bottom on the board.

After looking at this I realised I have to take composition and layout very seriously in this design process to ensure that the graphic fits the board shape and works with it.

From looking at this range I decided to look at different ranges of Toy Machine decks to see what themes they use and how they make each of the designs in the range consistent.

Looking at this series from Toy Machine They have used consistent theme of style and layout with the different characters. Each of the characters are the same length but different in colours and have mostly the same eyes and feet. I must ensure that my designs are consistent to ensure they look like a series and not completely separate.

When looking at this design I saw some inspiration which was the shark design which caught my eye with it being a summer range of skateboards. I thought it was interesting the way they had used one of the characters to create a shark to relating it to the brand.

Leave a comment